The Twelfth Nakshatra: Uttara Phalguni


The twelfth of the 27 Nakshatras is Uttara Phalguni, which spans from 26°40′ in Leo/Simha to 10°00′ in Virgo/Kanya in the Sidereal Zodiac. Uttara, उत्तर, means concluding, and Phalguni, फाल्गुनी, is that which gives fruit or fulfills our wishes and desires. This is the second half of a constellation in the shape of a bed. Purva Phalguni, which is the eleventh Nakshatra, is the other half.

The symbol for Uttara Phalguni is the four legs of a bed or cot, which represent the flow of power, courage, ambition, and righteousness down from the Divine or Higher Self into the physical and earthly plane. Each of the four legs symbolize the four koshas, or sheaths, that our souls (Anandamaya Kosha) experience here on Earth: the physical Annamaya Kosha, the subtle Pranamaya Kosha, the emotional or astral Manomaya Kosha, and the intellectual Vijanamaya Kosha.

The ruling planet for this Nakshatra is the Sun, that which represents our Higher Selves, our souls, the Divine, and our source of power, life, and creation here on Earth. The ruling deities, like Uttara’s first half, are Aryaman and Bhaga, showing that this too can be a very auspicious Nakshatra. The main motivation, or Purushaartha, is Moksha, and the Guna influence is equally sattvic, raja sic, and tamasic. One under the influence of or whose natal Moon is in Uttara Phalguni can unify the inner and the outer with the awareness of being a soul experiencing human existence, and can achieve success both materially and spiritually.

All the Nakshatras, Vedic (Sidereal) Zodiac signs, and more can be found in my book, Shedding Light on Jyotisha, Vedic Astrology For Beginners © 2015.

Shedding_Light_on_Jy_Cover_for_KindleShedding Light on JyotishaVedic Astrology For Beginner’s, is now available online at AmazonAmazon CanadaAmazon IndiaAmazon UK, and international Amazon stores, Barnes & Noble, and other smaller bookstores.

About Julianne Victoria

I am a writer, spiritual life coach, and intuitive healer in Santa Barbara, CA. I hope to help heal, teach, and inspire others on their journeys and in this life. © Julianne Victoria and Through the Peacock's Eyes Press under the Common Law Copyright; My main Blog:
This entry was posted in Astrology & Astronomy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to The Twelfth Nakshatra: Uttara Phalguni

  1. ashualec says:

    Vow, good to read this, I am an Uttara Phalguni and I assume I have all the good characteristics that you have described. :-))

  2. Aggie says:
    Ok, there’s a table that is big enough to read… There were three people, Robert Hand, Robert Zoller, and Robert Schmidt, who briefly formed Project Hindsight, to restore the western tradition. Historians think that Vedic and Hellenistic astrologies come from the same near eastern roots, so much is shared. Anyway, Zoller translated the Medieval texts, and Schmidt, who is the absolute genius, retranslated all the extant Greek texts, and studied them for years to derive the system. He had to figure out what many terms meant, because the definitions did not survive. Trouble is, he’s been too perfectionist to get the system published so that we can use it. If I had 48 hours in the day and had the money to travel to Boston, though, I’d be his student. An explosion of new info is on the web since I was into it some years ago. Let me know if you do compare.

    • Looks like the “terms” in this chart are the divisional rulerships of each of the signs using the five planets, minus the luminaries. So each sign has five secondary rulership influences. This is similar to decans (3 10° sections of each sign) in Western astrology. This isn’t the same as the Nakshatras (there are 2.5 Nakshatras per zodiac sign), but I am going to do more research now.

    • I can only find Nakshatras in reference to Vedic Astrology on this site. However, I do feel that at one time V and W astrology were once very similar if not the same, until the topics began to shift and “Western” astrologers (Persians, Greeks, Egyptians?) followed along and from there developed the Tropical Zodiac. I do recall reading somewhere a long time ago about a W Astrologer using the Nakshatras, but it is rare. Anyways there are always new asteroids to add into the mix! 🙂

  3. I saw 4 crows on my walk today, all together in one tree, with a hawk circling overhead!

  4. Aggie says:

    What if your sun is here? (Mine is, at least in Western calculation.)

    • The Lunar mansions aren’t typically looked at on Western Astrology. You have to look at your Vedic chart for these posts. That being said, there will be some influence on your Vedic Sun if it is here, especially since it is ruled by the Sun. Then it all depends on the house, house ruler, aspects, yogas, and dosha influences.

      • Aggie says:

        PS Classical and Medieval western astrologies do have this, and it is called terms. Hope that’s an interesting tidbit.

      • Oh cool. You’d have too look up or find a source to see if the ruling planets, deities, and symbols are the same or not (I’m guessing it would be shifted to Greek/Roman gods and views, and then interpret from there. Let me know of you know a good source on the internet. I’d love to check it out! Thank you!

  5. Joxua Luxor says:

    Also the number 4 was symbolic for the Indians as stability and perfection. As each yuga is gone through one of the legs is taken away making it more unstable until the kali yuga is reached, which stands on one leg…
    good post! 🙂

Comments and Discussion Welcome!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s