The Twenty-fourth Nakshatra: Shatabhishak

1000petallotusThe 24th of the 27 Nakshatras is Shatabhishak, spanning from 6°40′ to 20°00′ in Aquarius/Kumbha in the Sidereal Zodiac. Shata, शत, means one hundred, and bhishak or bhisha, भिषक् or भीषा, means intimidation. As a side note the similar bisa, बिस, means whole lotus plant, and the symbol for this Nakshatra is the thousand-petaled lotus, which also reflects the 100 stars that make up this constellation.

Lying fully in Aquarius, Shatabhishak is under the influence – the intimidating challenges and restrictions – of Saturn, the ruler of Aquarius. Shatabhishak’s planetary ruler is Rahu, the North Node. While Saturn provides us lessons and wisdom through separation, detachment, and limitations in the physical world, Rahu restricts the inner, psychological world. Through their very difficult challenges, they will lead and steer us, especially those under the influence of this Nakshatra, to develop great patience, to move towards our spiritual paths, and to know the ultimate truth and cosmic law. Issues will have to be faced on both the physical and psychological level, but if one works towards humanitarian service and focuses on responsibility to others, the spiritual and karmic lessons will be understood and lead to liberation, or Moksha.

lotus-blossomThe ruling deity of Shatabhishak is Varuna, the god of the ocean, the deep ocean world, and the celestial ocean (knowledge and wisdom). He is also a god of law. He helps those born under the influence of Shatabhishak to journey through the deep waters, the psychological and unconscious world, while providing the light of law, order, and wisdom to help one find understanding and enlightenment. As these lessons are learned the crown chakra, Sahasrara – the thousand-petaled lotus, begins to slowly unfold and blossom. This new awareness will help to transform one’s approach to life and humanity.

The main Guna quality is Sattwa with a secondary influence of Tamas, and the main motivation, or Purusaartha, is towards Dharma. Through the challenges, trials, and detachment of Shatabhishak, the soul will find the light of wisdom within and seek to harmonious shine that light for all others with-out.

All the Nakshatras, Vedic (Sidereal) Zodiac signs, and more can be found in my book, Shedding Light on JyotishaVedic Astrology For Beginners © 2015.

Shedding_Light_on_Jy_Cover_for_KindleShedding Light on JyotishaVedic Astrology For Beginner’s, is now available online at AmazonAmazon CanadaAmazon IndiaAmazon UK, and international Amazon stores, Barnes & Noble, and other smaller bookstores. For more book information click here!


About Julianne Victoria

I am a writer, spiritual life coach, and intuitive healer in Santa Barbara, CA. I hope to help heal, teach, and inspire others on their journeys and in this life. © Julianne Victoria and Through the Peacock's Eyes Press under the Common Law Copyright; My main Blog:
This entry was posted in Astrology & Astronomy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Twenty-fourth Nakshatra: Shatabhishak

  1. renatembell says:

    Thank you for sharing. This is my Ascendant nakshatra in my Vedic chart. I need to learn more about Varuna. Thank you for the reminder. 🙂

Comments and Discussion Welcome!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s