The First Limb of Yoga: Brahmacharya and Aparigraha

The fourth and fifth practices of the first limb of yoga are self-control and non-hoarding, respectively. Brahmacharya is a practice of self-control of desire in both thought and action. It is not a practice of suppression, but of becoming ever more conscious of the difference between the desires of the ego and the volitions of the soul to do what is right. By practicing Brahmacharya, we can learn to not be controlled by our egos and develop selfless and harmonious relationships with everyone we interact with. Brahmacharya is building a bridge to Brahman, the expansive essence of the universe.

Aparigraha is a practice of non-hoarding, or more clearly, of not grasping, clinging, or collecting objects, people, gossip, or even unhealthy thoughts and ideas. This unsatiable grasping seems to be driven by desire, but if we reflect upon it, we will see that the grasping is the desire. With this clarity, we can begin to practice letting go of the often addictive need to have, possess, and hold onto things, others, the past, views, etc.

The five practices of the first limb of yoga are guidelines for us in developing the ability to constrain our egos to let our souls shine through. These practices help us to be good people and to be responsible for all our actions, including our thoughts, words, and intentions.

About Julianne Victoria

I am a Spiritual Counselor, Shamanic Healer, Writer, & Creator. I hope to help heal, teach, and inspire others on their souls' journeys and in this life. © Julianne Victoria and Through the Peacock's Eyes Press under the Common Law Copyright
This entry was posted in Yoga and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments and Discussion Welcome!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s