Jnana Yoga: The Path of Knowledge

There are Four Paths of Yoga: Karma Yoga, the path                                                                 of service; Bhakti Yoga, the path of Sanskrit Booklove; Raja Yoga, the path of Ashtanga, or the Eight Limbs of Yoga; and Jnana Yoga, the path of knowledge. The path of knowledge does involve study: study of sacred texts and study to gain knowledge of life and existence. This path of knowledge and study will be different for each of us. For the Buddha, it was contemplating and meditating on suffering. For Einstein, it was through the study of physics.

Every one who is seriously involved in the pursuit of science becomes convinced that a spirit is manifest in the laws of the Universe-a spirit vastly superior to that of man, and one in the face of which we with our modest powers must feel humble.

– Albert Einstein

Whatever path we take towards knowledge, the ultimate goal is to attain knowledge of our timeless and True Self, or Atman, and to achieve the understanding of the expansive and ultimate reality of Brahman, the Universe and Absolute Oneness of All. Realization of Atman is knowledge that we are not our bodies and minds, but souls on a journey towards union, or yoga, with All.

The Self is the sun shining in the sky, the wind blowing in space; he is the fire at the altar and in the home the guest; he dwells in human beings, in gods, in truth, and in the vast firmament; he is the fish born in water, the plant growing on earth, the river flowing down from the mountain. For the Self is supreme!…The Self is the light reflected by all.

– Yama, the god of death, Katha Upanishad

About Julianne Victoria

I am a Spiritual Counselor, Shamanic Healer, Writer, & Creator. I hope to help heal, teach, and inspire others on their souls' journeys and in this life. © Julianne Victoria and Through the Peacock's Eyes Press under the Common Law Copyright www.juliannevictoria.com
This entry was posted in Yoga and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Jnana Yoga: The Path of Knowledge

  1. JK Bevill - Lost Creek Publishing says:

    Reblogged this on lost creek publishing.

  2. Beautifully put! Thank you! Namaste

  3. In the way of union (yoga) we start with two entities: Atma, the Self, and jiva (individual soul). Through jnana the understanding or attainment or realization is that there are ‘not two’, there is only unity (no ‘real’, essential difference between the two, thus no separation): the Self and the apparent individual are one and the same. The Self, Atma, is ‘one without a second’.

Comments and Discussion Welcome!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s