शिव सूत्र १: The Shiva Sutras Section 1, Sutra 1

Blue ShivaSutra means thread or string, and sutras are spiritual or sacred texts that thread together ideas and messages in as few words as possible. This is to avoid any ambiguity in their meaning, and yet it makes them so fully meaningful. The Shiva Sutras are a treatise on yoga philosophy on liberation and the Ultimate Reality.

There are 77 Shiva Sutras, broken down into three sections. I will start from the beginning and slowly work my way through them. Section 1 is called Shaambhavopaaya or:

शाम्भव उपाय 


sacred to or derived from Shiva + means, way, approach, effort, and remedy

Section 1: The way as derived from Shiva

चैतन््यमात्मा ।।१।।

Chaitanyamaatmaa = chaitanya + Aatmaa

The state of being conscious or absolute awareness + Self, Soul, Reality

Sutra 1: Pure Awareness is Reality

About Julianne Victoria

I am a Spiritual Counselor, Shamanic Healer, Writer, & Creator. I hope to help heal, teach, and inspire others on their souls' journeys and in this life. © Julianne Victoria and Through the Peacock's Eyes Press under the Common Law Copyright www.juliannevictoria.com
This entry was posted in Sanskrit Studies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to शिव सूत्र १: The Shiva Sutras Section 1, Sutra 1

  1. Amazing image.. May you have a wonderful and Peaceful day

  2. mahasadhu says:

    That is indeed a blissful project by you dear Julianne! Waiting forward to read more about it… right now I am reading Brahma Sutras

  3. litebeing says:

    beautiful , I am fascinated with sacred texts and the characters are so refined and delicate.


Comments and Discussion Welcome!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s